Special Friday Post: Next Step of Publishing – Done!

So, this week I approved the cover design and the interior layout of “Making Room.”

What an amazing, incredible, over-the-moon feeling it was.

From the outside, it seems like this event would be fairly anti-climactic. After all, all I’m doing is looking at an image on a computer screen, then reading some words, then saying “YES!” But I wrote those words. And that cover exists because of the words I wrote (and the fabulous designing of the publisher’s creative director!). And I have loved books since I was a little tater tot, shoving my face in any Cam Jensen book I could get my hands on. Into my young adulthood, and sometimes still, on a Saturday night, I much preferred hanging out with my family then reading into the wee hours of the morning instead of doing almost anything else.

And as I sat there this week, with big fat tears in my eyes as I watched another step of my long-time dream come to fruition, I thought back to the moment I started it 8 years ago. I’ve mentioned it before, but here it is again:

I was sitting at my computer late at night in the dead of winter. Lake Ontario was dumping a beautiful, glittering blanket of silent snow on my sleepy little Western New York town. My blinds were open and I was staring out at the movement of the snow visible under a streetlamp that was casting a surreal orange glow over the field behind our apartment. I started the story when I was freezing, and dreaming of a trip to North Carolina my best friend and I had taken the summer before. Here are the two pictures that inspired the beginning of my story:

Copyright Joe Pompili. Spencerport, New York
Copyright Joe Pompili. Spencerport, New York
Copyright Elisa Pompili. North Carolina, 2004
Copyright Elisa Pompili. Wilmington, North Carolina, 2004

I couldn’t even tell you the first scene I wrote. But I can tell you that I wrote about a third of it, then decided I needed God’s love in there, and basically started from scratch. I couldn’t write it without God’s grace. To me, without that, there wasn’t a story.

Stay tuned in the next couple weeks as I let loose a few excerpts and maybe – with the publisher’s blessing – the cover of my novel, “Making Room.” I hope you’ll travel with Elizabeth, Bryce, Mitch, and Danny Tenner, and Nathan Monroe, between Western New York and Coastal North Carolina. They push and pull and test each other’s resolves, not only in each others’ faith – or lack thereof – but also in their commitments to one other. Family dynamics are moved all around, hearts are tested, broken, and pieced back together, as they are in our day-to-day living.

I hope you’ll enjoy it, and then pass it along to others who might be touched by Nathan and the Tenners. My goal in fulfilling this dream is this:

For one person who does not know me, my heart, or where I’m coming from, to buy or receive “Making Room”, read it, enjoy it, and remember it. Just one person. Because in my world, in my profession of being a counselor and an artist, if I can touch one person’s heart with my own, I have truly done my job.

Thanks for visiting, pass it along, and come again!

My Facebook status today:
Tears in my eyes today as I approve the layout for “Making Room” … Thank God even crazy dreams come true!

Now to Him who is able to do above and beyond all that we ask or think according to the power that works in us — (Ephesians 3:20 HCSB)

2 comments

  1. Congratulations Elisa!! I cannot wait to walk through Barnes and Noble to find your book! You have accomplished so much and I am ecstatic your dreams are coming true!!

What do you think?

