Weekly Photo Challenge: Color

Weekly Photo Challenge: Color

WordPress gave this challenge –

In a new post created specifically for this challenge, share a picture in which color takes center stage.

I could seriously post all day. I am always playing around with my photos, and not just in FotoRus (my favorite photo editing app), but with Ribbet. I love taking photos, and I love editing them to see if I can make them juuuust right. The first two pictures that came to mind when I thought “Color” were these unedited photos:

I have never seen a more beautiful sky than a Georgia sunrise or sunset. To have these colors jump out of the sky, yet stay still so boldly at the same time, without touching a photo editor or a filter on the camera… nothing short of show-stopping.

The morning photo (left) was taken just a week before Greg came home on R&R. I hadn’t seen him in 9 months and I was full to the brim with nervous energy, so before work I took a 1.5 mile walk around my neighborhood.

The next photo that came to mind was from Autumn in Cincinnati, which I wrote about here. There is a large park system there, and this was my favorite. I wrote a good bit of Making Room under a large trellis at the park’s entrance. I also loved to hang out on a stone balcony overlooking this field:

CIMG2374

Then I thought about color and how the absence of color can sometimes be just as beautiful. I thought about my wedding photos and how our photographer kept the entire picture B&W except for my orange and white flowers. And I thought about how the same photo can be fixed to be charged with color, or drained of it:

Five photos for one challenge, but I couldn’t resist. It’s a divided gallery, and there are few rules to these challenges so I don’t really feel badly about it πŸ™‚ Some others worth checking out:

WordPress challenge (original Weekly Photo Challenge post)

Foto challenge (starfish)

Jill’s Well (the first one is my favorite)

Heather’s Photography (color fun with yarn)

Colline’s Blog (look at that tomato display!)

ilovelongvacation (you know I can’t resist a travel picture, even though this a picture of a menu!)

Postcards from Scotland (please, please get me on this ferry!)

dogablog (another across-the-seas photo)

29 comments

  1. The Georgian sunrise is stunning! Definitely a view worth getting up early to see!
    Thank you for mentioning the tomato display I capture πŸ™‚

  2. The autumn picture is stunning. When I first saw it, it looked like one of those scale-model scenes, like on a train table. I have a special spot in my heart for Ohio, and I love it when anyone helps others see the beauty of the state.

What do you think?

