Erasing the Hate From Our Lives

Japan Hearts edited

Hate: (v) – to dislike intensely or passionately; feel extreme aversion for or extreme hostility toward; detest; to feel intense dislike, or extreme aversion or hostility. (n) – intense dislike; extreme aversion or hostility.

Erase the hate:
– From our language
– From our relationships
– From our workplace
– From our social media conversations
– From our actions
– From our hearts

Erasing the hate from our language –
I caught myself saying, “I hate long chapters. They’re so unmotivating.” Then why and how did I read Harry Potter? Do I actually hate long chapters? No. They’re just a small annoyance, but I’m strong enough to press on. I just keep seeing – in those basic sentences – how unnecessarily extreme ‘hate’ is when it’s used in such a simple context, which I believe is the context it’s most often used in. I wondered what would happen if I just erased that word from my language? That no matter how light of tone I said it in, my speech would no longer contain the word ‘hate’? There are exceptions – human trafficking, losing a loved one, being manipulated. But from the simplest sentences: I hate corn; I hate winter; I hate blue cars. Save ‘hate’ from those things you wish would be forever erased from the world. I’ve made a conscious decision to erase the word from my everyday language. I’ll have to be more creative in my word choices. Maybe I’ll be more thoughtful about what I’m saying, and not just regarding those simple items, but in more complex facets of life, as well.

Erasing the hate from our relationships –
Whether it’s directed toward a former friend, or we use it in argument (“I hate when you do that!”) or it’s someone we’ve never gotten along with: the term ‘hate’ and the feeling in our hearts that it describes does nothing but foster and breed the hate seed, which is a toxic monster that solves nothing. Erasing the hate and replacing it with something from left field such as forgiveness, grace, or even workable anger (which is to say, anger that’s not permanent but anger that we’re willing to work through and move past) would make a world of difference in our relationships.

Erasing the hate from our workplace –
Yes, Mondays can be a drag. The transition from being on our own time to being pulled in 127 directions can certainly bring on some crankiness. But you know, Mondays can be wonderful. Marvelous, even. Marvelous Monday. Take away the ‘hate’ from “I _____ Mondays”, replacing it with ‘like’, ‘love’ if you’re adventurous, or even ‘am indifferent to’, and you’ll find it’s just another day. (Anyone else singing “Just Another Manic Monday…”?) Change your words first and your attitude might follow. Besides, without Monday you wouldn’t get to Tuesday. Without Tuesday you wouldn’t get to Wednesday. See where I’m going with this one? And yes, I understand we don’t always get along with our co-workers. That is just the nature of being part of the human race. But we don’t have to act out hate on each other. We don’t have to dwell on the drama. We can set boundaries, be professional, hold our tongues, or even – again, if you’re adventurous – give each other second and third and fourth, fifth, and sixth chances. Cultivate an environment of respect, mutual understanding, and care for one another.

Erasing the hate from our social media conversations –
A tall order for our current state of social media saturation. But I believe it can happen. I believe our children will get so sick of the bashing and the fighting and the drama and the pure hate that tends to drip from our keys via Twitter, Facebook, Yahoo! news comments, YouTube comments, etc. The extreme disdain for one another that comes out of the screen oftentimes astounds me, and it makes me wonder if that same venom would come out were these people face-to-face with the human being who created whatever is being so harshly criticized. There are not robots on the receiving end of this text, even though it does transmit through a machine. No, our words are received by a living, breathing being who could take hateful words further than we ever mean for them to go, because we all know how out-of-context things can be taken when it’s the written word. We have enough trouble with the spoken word, but when we’re reading something it’s in our own voice so we can make up the tone right along with implicit and explicit meanings from any Facebook post, Tweet, or video comment posted by any Tom, Dick, or Mary. Dare to be different and put only the positive text karma out there.

Erasing the hate from our actions –
Maybe we don’t specifically think ‘hate’ when we play passive-aggressive social games with people we don’t jive with, or when we do nice things for others but only for certain others, or when we post a passively virulent something on any one social media outlet. Such actions are negative and derogatory, and it’s moving toward hate if it’s not there already. Only you can stop that train, whether you follow the golden rule or you press “Backspace” before you post something mean. It’s that easy.

Erasing the hate from our hearts –
Sometimes it is a daily struggle to allow love and positivity to win over hate. We are so easily brought down by the things that bother or hurt us. We harbor anxiety and frustration, unforgiveness and bitterness in our hearts. And it does us no good. Instead, it lends the heart to undue stress, the body to unnecessary tension. If only we remembered that whoever is at the hub of our hurt, they’re human, too. We can release the hate from our hearts and fill it with grace and mercy, easing the burden of hate from ourselves, from our lives, and from each other.

You tell me:

Will you take the challenge? Will you allow the hate to dissolve and make a choice, a very important choice, to erase the hate from your everyday language, actions, relationships, and hearts? What will you let win in your life?

6 comments

  1. I will join you in your challenge. I don’t really like that word. I think it would help create more positivity in our lives. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the post.

  2. Great advice and challenge. When I was in 3rd grade, our teacher overheard one girl say she hated someone in the class. The teacher wrote the word HATE in gigantic, white-chalk letters that filled up the entire blackboard. And she told us that this is a word we should never say, that it means something really terrible and horrible, and that no one in our class really hates anyone else. She must have been upset because I remember her voice was trembling and her arm shaking as she wrote on the blackboard. Your essay reminded me of that day, long ago.

What do you think?

