Very Inspiring Blogger Award

So a couple weeks ago I was talking to my mom on the phone and she says, “Elise, I really think you should win an award for your blog.”

“Thanks, mom, but it’s not really good enough. There are thousands of them out there, and you have to be way better than me.”

“Shush. Can’t I just go to blogawards.com?”

My sweet, not-so-techy mom believed there was just one place for blog awards to be given. The loving, believe-in-her-kids mother that she is, she has tried several avenues to have my blog featured – local news outlets, mainly. None of them have panned out and she is determined to get me a blog award. To be fair, when she asked me I knew nothing (still really don’t) about where blog awards are given, where they originate from, why they’re given, etc. I’m still completely fascinated/confused with the alternate universe that is the blogosphere.

So imagine my happy surprise when Peace, Love & Great Country Music posted on My Books today:

I haven’t followed your blog very long, but I have enjoyed reading through it. I gave you the Very Inspiring Blogger Award, the info is on my page. Not all bloggers like sorting through and posting awards, and if you don’t, that’s cool. I gave it to you to let my followers know about your great blog. Keep up the great work!

For the record, Peace, Love & Great Country Music is one of my new favorites. I’m not sure I’ve written very much about it yet, but I LOVE country music. It’s on my list of Favorite Things. So naturally, I love her blog. She knows her stuff, she’s passionate about what she presents, and she seems like someone I’d be friends with.

Peace, Love & Great Country music gave me the Very Inspiring Blogger award, and I appreciate it! It’s my first blog award. Blog Awards are something I haven’t quite yet figured out and I’m not completely sure how I feel about them, but bottom line: someone recognizes the hard work you put into your writing and wants to tell others about it. That’s pretty cool. I started this blog at the request of my publisher for  my novel, Making Room. I’ve enjoyed watching it change and grow with time, and it seems others have, too.

very-inspiring-blogger-award

THE RULES:

Display the award logo on your blog. [check]
Link back to the person(s) who nominated you. [check]
State seven things about yourself. [below]
Nominate fifteen other bloggers for this award and link to them. [this was tricky]
Notify those bloggers of nominations and the award’s requirements. [check]

Seven things about myself:

1. If I could swim, bike, and play tennis every day, I’d be one of the happiest women alive.

2. I love sushi and chocolate.

3. My favorite 20 minutes of the week is during praise and worship at church. I sing my out-of-tune heart out!

4. I’ve been married for 7 years and I’m one of those cheesy mushy-gushy girls who is best friends with her husband.

5. I live in NC and love it.

6. I’m a school counselor and love it.

7. I am a proud fan of the Buffalo Bills and New York Yankees.

The nomination piece… I agree with PL&GCM – I can’t nominate 15; that’s too many. I am giving it to just a few of the ones I read on a regular basis, but each lifts my spirits when I read/look at them:

http://mydogablog.com/ – many times written from Monty’s (a dog) perspective.

http://kuuleilani.wordpress.com/ – Jasmine, genuine and positive

http://5kidswdisabilities.com/ – real tales from a real family

http://andthenwelaughed.wordpress.com/ – military spouse writing about anything and everything

http://christinejacox.com/ – my favorite photography blog. Always inspires me.

Enjoy! And thanks for stopping by… keep it comin’!

6 comments

  1. Congratulations Elisa!!!! I thoroughly enjoyed reading this today after 15 hours of packing and moving. I am so happy someone recognized you. It is so well deserved. You are the most inspiring person I know. Congrats!!

What do you think?

