Priceless life advice that awaits inside a piece of chocolate

My blog title, Life’s So Sweet, sounds a little like a pastry chef’s blog. I sometimes wonder if people stumble upon LSS thinking they’ll find recipes for delectable, servable sweets. Then they are sorely disappointed when they find the Sweet in Life’s So Sweet is because I believe that no matter what’s going on there is always a way to find the sweetness in life.

Last week was my first go-round in a month, and I’m still a little rusty. Still having trouble finding inspiration, but I figured we could never go wrong with some chocolate wisdom. ‘Tis the season for over-eating and special chocolate indulging. Plus, I figured I’d give some credibility to the Life’s So Sweet thing – this is my 150th post! So I went through the pain-staking, calorie-inducing effort to mow down a bag of Dove Promises just so I could pass along the priceless wisdom laid out below. I dug deep in my commitment feet to bring you the following truths:

It’s OK to be fabulous AND flawed! This actually made me roll my eyes, but I separated myself from that and took it for what it means: we are not perfect, but that doesn’t mean we can’t be AWESOME. For example, my stay-at-home mom friends: maybe you don’t get everything right while you’re taking care of your kids, but I honestly believe you are super heroes.

Take good care of yourself. There’s a reason airlines tell you that in the case of an emergency you are to put your own mask on before you help others; we can’t help each other if we don’t tend to ourselves. This isn’t being selfish; this is being smart.

Indulge your sense of amusement. Here’s my favorite joke (two-part Knock, Knock):

Knock, knock.

Who’s there?

Interrupting cow.

Interrupting cow wh (MOOOO!)

Knock, knock.

Who’s there?

Interrupting sloth.

Interrupting sloth who?

……

BLAH!!!! (Because a sloth is so slow, get it? I crack up every single time. Every. Single. Time).

The more you praise and celebrate your life, the more there is in life to celebrate. It’s true; the more you focus on the positive, the more positive there will be to see. What you focus on expands.

Live your dreams (the best you can).

Ignite your sense of adventure. You all know this about me – I love adventure. And I’m the person who thinks hopping in the car at midnight with your hunny to get an impromptu snack at Wal-Mart is an adventure, so big or small scale, go for it!

You’re invited to relax today. I listened to a stress management expert who said that your body is not resting unless your legs are reclined. I took that to heart, and now spend at least 15 minutes of my day reclined on my couch. Maybe I’m making this up to myself, but I swear my legs feel better!

At least this chocolate eating came with a sense of purpose other than indulging!  Although if it’s only once in a while, I really don’t disagree with ‘indulging’ being the sole purpose. J

Stick around! I’m back and I promise positivity, truth, and the occasional personal anecdote.

Happy Holidays!

What do you think?

