Daily Prompt: 1st crush at 5 years old

Daily Prompt: It’s Friday, I’m in Love

Remember your first crush? Think about that very first object of your affection. Oh, the sweaty palms. The swoony feeling in your stomach. Tell us the story of your first crush. What was it about this person that made your heart pound? Was the love requited? Change the names to protect the guilty or innocent if you must! No judgement here. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Photographers, artists, poets: show us SMITTEN.

My mom *loves* to tell this story.

dad47Because I was 5 years old, and it’s fun for moms to tell adorable-slash-embarrassing stories about their children from that age. Well, any age, really. But this is one of her favorites.

Now, I don’t remember this. As I said, I was 5. (And, as the photo to the left indicates, I was an angel.) I do remember asking his girlfriend the next year (yes, I do mean in 1st grade, 6 years old) if she thought they’d get married. Then being really bummed when she said, ‘I think so.’

Let’s call him S. He was blond as blond could be, bright blue eyes. I know this because he looked the same all the way through elementary, middle, and high school. And he and his best friend used to chase me around the playground. Of course I had a crush on him! As far as a 5-year-old crush could go, I suppose.

The story my mom loves to tell is that we saw S. in Bells (local grocery store) one day after school. Apparently I got beet, beet red when I said ‘Hi’ to him. Right there in the middle of the aisle. Bright, bright, Rainbow Red.

I got over my crush around 2nd or 3rd grade when I knew he wasn’t going to leave M. for me. But clearly I got the better end of the deal:

4 comments

What do you think?

