Daily Prompt: Against All Odds – Staying Married

Daily Prompt: Against All Odds

Tell us about a situation where you’d hoped against all hope, where the odds were completely stacked against you, yet you triumphed. Be sure to describe your situation in full detail. Tell us all about your triumph in all its glory.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us LONGSHOT.

I live in a culture of divorce.

Most of my students belong to blended families.

In my own family, 16/18 marriages have dissolved.

In my city, marriage is treated as a hobby, something to fit around other activities.

I have been asked out on dates while wearing my wedding band. I’ve been asked if my wedding ring will stop me from giving another man my phone number. I’ve been told to take my wedding ring off in order to get more attention (dancing).

Yes, I live in a culture of divorce.

I believe the odds are stacked against me to stay in a healthy, thriving marriage because those who came before me didn’t, and those currently around me just don’t see the value. If it doesn’t work it doesn’t work. // You drift apart. // You find someone new. // It just gets too hard. // I deserve better. // We just can’t live like this anymore, and the only way out is through the front door.

This is certainly not to discount those who did come before me and chose to split. Marriage is tough. It is a fight. And I know they all tried hard. If we’re having a truth moment here, any married person will tell you it is easy to put yourself in the position where you are ready to walk. One crazy thought can turn into a barrel roll of disappointment, anger, bitterness, unforgiveness.

But this is to say, that in a world where $99 divorces can be found around the corner, I will not fold.

wedding I will leave a legacy of life. I will leave a legacy of wholeness. I will fight to the death to keep my marriage alive and thriving because it’s a fight worth fighting. When the odds are stacked against me, I will push back. I will invest time and money and energy into my husband to create a home where we are each other’s best friend. I will flee temptation. I will choose to love, choose to serve, even when I feel my spouse doesn’t deserve it, because that’s part of the fight.

I’m doing this God’s way, and that means I stay. I roll up my sleeves and get dirty, knee deep in the trenches of marriage. I have fun with it. I infuse laughter and love and truth and authenticity and thoughtfulness and patience into my marriage on a daily basis. My husband is my ally, and I will treat him as such.

Yes, I live in a culture of divorce.

But that will not be my story.

2012 - 6th anniversary
2012 – 6th anniversary

9 comments

What do you think?

