Daily Prompt: Moments to Remember (out of the 931,305,600 seconds I’ve lived thus far…)

Daily Prompt: Moments to Remember

What are the three most memorable moments — good or bad, happy or sad — in your life? Go!

As of midnight tonight, I’ve been alive approximately 931,305,600 seconds.

For crying out loud. Really?!

I did the math for my students today as we talked about using our time wisely, and they not-so-gracefully responded, “Whoooaaaa! You’ve been alive for sooooo long!”

False.

I am 29.5 years young, thank you very much.

Although I did *just* (as of last Thursday) admit to being in my late 20s. But that’s another topic for another day.

How do I pick 3 moments out of more than 930 MILLION seconds? Because moments are but a second long, a lasting memory that is burned into one’s psyche, into one’s life story, from the second it happens until the cell that holds the memory deteriorates. (Clearly I’m super sentimental about this).

We’ve all had our challenges, our tragedies, our struggles. But the joy always wins for me, so if I absolutely had to pick 3 moments that would count as the very best in my whole life thus far, they would be…

  1. When I stepped onto the international plane heading to Japan from Dallas.
  2. Any one of the moments I’m dancing and complete a “chainsaw” spin correctly and don’t hurt myself or my partner.
  3. My brother singing Kujo with his old man Disney puppet.
  4. Any one of the moments I’ve laughed with my husband (and there have been many … we’re known for the silliness!)

Sorry, that’s 4. And sorry, mom, dad, Gram & Gramps & everyone else I love. Oh, the guilt. This is why I don’t like lists! Always someone or something excluded.

Anyway, I digress.

My favorite moments hold either anticipation, a dream realized, or a love shared. That is what life should be about, my friends.

Until next time…

10 comments

  1. It’s really hard to pick just three moments in your life. I am 44 and had trouble picking what was most memorable. I chose three that meant something to me. Thanks for sharing.

What do you think?

