Succumbing to the Twitterverse

If you are one of my 57 Twitter followers – 57, I know. Watch out! – you have noticed a significant increase in my Tweets this week. It is certainly not because I’ve been bored. Nor is it because I’ve developed a penchant for expressing myself in 140 characters or less. No. My writer’s heart cringes and cries when she can’t put punctuation in her hashtags. (I’m a little serious about that).

Rather, it is for two reasons:

1. While I can’t say I love social media over-posters (you know who and what I mean), I sometimes admire their ability and willingness to be vulnerable to their digital world. Is there a line to draw between vulnerability and excessive sharing? Sure. But never do these over-posters air their dirty laundry. Not the ones in my circle, anyway. They’re just looking for some community. Trying to do life with others via shared life experiences. Nothing wrong with that. And shame on me for attempting to judge or be annoyed by it because a) if it truly irks me, then I have no business existing in the social media realm and b) I should turn my focus to being thankful for the opportunity to see life updates from people I care about. Maybe at times it’s kind of superficial, but without the ability to post and Tweet and share and digitally connect on such a massive scale, I’d never get to see my cousin’s kids or my old HS friends’ accomplishments. We don’t have room in our 3D world for everyone we may want to keep at least in the periphery of our lives; social media helps us do that.

image2. If I want to go for this author thing for real, a) I need to be more vulnerable: believing in myself enough to tweet things like missing my grandpa and wishing Hogwarts was a real place; and b) I need to understand Twitter. That is just a fact of life. No running from the 140-character-or-less world if I want to pursue writing on a massive Bethany House Publisher scale. We can complain about it all we want – about how Twitter goes against fundamental principles of effective communication, etc. – but the founder of Twitter has a monetary net worth of $2.1 billion because more than 400 million tweets go out each per day. Per. Day. That’s approximately 4.630 tweets per second, around the clock. That’s a community in and of itself: if you tweet, you can take comfort in the fact that more than 4,000 people are doing exactly what you’re doing right then and there.

Let’s have a #truth moment here: I don’t even know if I’m using it correctly! I quote tweets and I retweet completely at random. (Well, not completely. But there’s no pattern … really, it’s just what I find interesting enough to share). I read Michael Hyatt’s entire Twitter chapter in Platform in the hopes of getting a grasp on this. He goes the trouble of recommending a number of Tweets per day. I can’t really handle being serious about that small of a detail, but I do put genuine thought into crafting my tweets. I’m truly hoping this comes easier with time. Because it’s hard for me to take seriously a sentence in which I say, “I put genuine thought into crafting my tweets.” Just take a moment, and if you’re 30 or older, you’ll understand how silly that sounds.

Another #truth moment: my ultimate goal for writing is to lift a reader’s spirit. Twitter is another avenue for that. In my daily prayers I ask for guidance as I show the world through my online self (which is pretty much the same as my 3-dimensional self) who I am, what I believe, and what I hope for.

So, I’m going to keep Tweeting. The two things I’ve been consistent with are tweeting my favorite part of my day (#favepartofday) as an act of daily gratitude, and tweeting a #MondayMotto – inspiration or a laugh to start off the day, and by extension, the week. Join us if you’d like! There’s a handy-dandy button on the blog page on the right-hand side. My dad also retweets every one of my tweets (seriously, every one of them), so if you’d rather follow @paulynyc945, have at it.

Gotta start somewhere.

One comment

What do you think?

