Pride & Joy: My Husband’s Heart

Pride and Joy: What is your most prized possession? GO!

I need structure. I need direction. I need a frame of reference wider than “GO!”

The question, What is your most prized possession, is way too broad for this over-thinker. I’ve read some great responses: wedding rings, purse carryings, children. Those are great responses, and you see how quickly they all answered; no over-thinking. Oh, what a joy that would be. I care for my rings but can live without them; I’m too disorganized in my purse/bag life to count anything in there; and I don’t have any children.

Prized possession – what I can’t live without.

Prized possession – what my life would be considerably worse if it didn’t exist.

Here’s great insight into my personality: I looked up ‘possession’ on dictionary.com, because I wanted to see if I could find a definition that didn’t include owning. And I found one!

 actual holding or occupancy, either with or without rights of ownership.

I do not own my husband’s heart; that would be… weird. But I hold it. I hold it in my hands and I try, to the best of my ability, to treat it with kindness, compassion, patience, truth, respect, and love. I fail at this. Regularly. I get snippy, I raise my voice. I get angry and cranky and take it out on him. I get defensive when there’s no reason to do so, and I am not always the most pleasant person to be around. All that to say, I am human. But I try. That’s what matters. I care for his heart and I am committed to our life together. I treasure his heart and I hope I always let him know that. He teaches me how to love better, he inspires me to be daring. He tells me to be the best version of myself. He believes in me, he laughs with me, he loves me. For all these reasons and more, my husband’s heart is my most prized possession that I never, ever want to live without.

15 comments

  1. This was incredibly sweet and made even sweeter with the wonderful pictures you added. What a beautiful couple you two make. Also, thank you so much for the mention in your post. I greatly appreciate that. This was a fun prompt, with so many terrific responses.

What do you think?

