Roundup: The pets that fix us

It is no secret to anyone in my 3D and digital worlds that I love my puppy. She is my buddy, my baby girl, my partner in crime. She is laying at my feet as I write this.

image

I am continually amazed at how my heart continues to expand as I love and play with her each day. I used to cringe when I saw photos of dogs on beds and furniture. I didn’t understand why people would travel with their pet. I thought it strange when I would hear the exorbitant amounts of money people would spend on their animals. Weeeeelllll, I get it now. And after watching this soldier and this family reunite with their canines, there is no denying that:

They become a part of your heart. They are living, breathing, furry things that engage every one of your senses on a daily basis. They teach you how to better love, as they are patient, forgiving, affectionate, and unconditionally faithful. They lick the tears off your face, or if yours is anything like mine, they actually just lick your eyelids while you’re trying to cry because they can’t stand to see you in pain. And according to Mental Floss, one of my new favorite Twitter follows, they help boost your mood and immune system, and lower stress and allergies.

I wrote about her when I got her, and I have used her cutie pie face a few times since. Because as with my husband, my friends, and my weekly sushi indulgence, I can’t imagine my life without her.

You tell me: I would love to see photos of your pets! How have they changed/improved your life?

7 comments

  1. She is an absolute beauty, that sweet face! I think they are such good fuel for the soul but also it’s a good reason to be up and active. While I’ve been sick, my dog has turned into my therapy dog. I know I must get up to feed her, let her out and in, etc.

  2. I completely agree with you! I can’t believe how much I love my dogs and how much peace and joy I get from them. What kind of dog do you have…he/she is adorable! I also used to laugh at people who let their dogs on their furniture or who were just gaga over their pets and now I’m one of them. 🙂

What do you think?

