I know your game, Summer Vacation, and I have a deal for you

Image credit: THINKSTOCK

Oh, Summer Vacation.

How I love you! Let me count the ways.

Thou art hot, hot, hot, full of swimming and tanning bliss, and you don’t require an alarm clock.

Pretty much, you’re my favorite thing ever. (Beside sushi, a good cupcake, my dog and my husband, of course).

However, as an educator, I’ve got a bone to pick with you. 70 bones, actually. That’s approximately the number of days you take away our students, soiling their brains with video games and new episodes of iCarly and Phineas & Ferb. You drain their energy, un-accustom them to a routine we took 36 weeks in developing, and you do it all with a smile on your face.

I know your game, and I know where you come from, thank you, Mental Floss:

image

But just because those “sweaty rich kids” (their words, not mine!) wanted you, doesn’t mean it’s the best idea out there. We need you, Summer Vacation. Oh, we need you. We need that R&R, we need our family time and our swim time, our tanning time and our vacation time. Our lemonade, iced tea, and freeze pop time.

But Summer Vacation, if you could please, please, please, make my kids read while they’re visiting you? Maybe even practice a few math facts while they’re counting out their GTA (Grand Theft Auto) cash to buy their digital weapons and women?

Summer Vacation, I am not requesting that we give you up. I do not need to be stoned by my colleagues. No, I am simply requesting that you pay a little more attention to the development of my students’ growing brains? Throw a book at ’em, make ’em tell you the chemistry behind UVA sunblock, require a strict adherence to the community pool’s rules so that when they come back to me in late August they are ready to follow mine!

Summer Vacation, I will see you in 16 glorious days. I will soak you up like a sponge and be over-the-moon excited to leave my alarm clock off, read my Bible every morning, ride my bike, write my book, swim my laps, dance until 2 a.m. on a Wednesday. But if I solemnly swear to watch a TED Talk or two, and read at least 2 books – chick romance aside – will you do yours?

I believe in you, Summer Vacation. I do, I do, I do.

What do you think?

