Using courage and patience to stay in the moment

Answering the question, ‘If you had the power to get somewhere — anywhere — where would you go right now?’ is a tricky one for me. I’m way too INTJ to not think past my first response, which is, of course, the boardwalk in downtown Wilmington, NC, writing my book or eating sushi with Greg. My soul just breathes there. It’s my fall-back Happy Place.

E wilmington

But what’s most difficult about this question is that my husband and I are in the middle of changing our language from “What is God going to do?” to “What is God doing?” We’re both really putting our best in-the-moment foot forward here, trying not to get ahead of ourselves on anything. Trying to not want more or different than what we have. We want so many things. We always want so many things. But they’re not for materialistic purposes. We want a home with hardwood floors, so my allergies aren’t so bad and we have a great space to entertain. We want to be debt-free so we can leave 100% tips at restaurants and travel to new places. We want to structure our lives so that we are an example to our friends and families of faithfulness, health, adventure, and joy. And we always think that stuff is coming up in the future, that it’s not here yet and we have to keep working toward it because God hasn’t put us in that place yet.

But what if God is putting us in that place moment by moment? What if, in all God’s daily works, He is giving us one thing at a time? He’s helping us live our purpose, our desires, our goals – right now?

It seems so cliché to say, ‘I don’t want to be anywhere but where I am’. But what if that’s true? What if we were so faithful to what God is doing in our lives, that we don’t want to be anywhere but right here, because right here is His current request of us? And we know that ultimately, His plan is what’s best for us? What if we didn’t wish for the past or wish for the future or wish for something completely out of this moment, and we just breathed through it? Lived through it? Whether it’s joyful or treacherous, we accepted that it’s all for the good of the cause (the cause being our well-being), and we genuinely desired to be where we are, and nowhere else.

Right now I’m sitting in front of a computer, and while in my head I’m simultaneously thinking of watching last night’s episode of The Bachelorette and being out in the sunshine walking my dog, I’m also thinking, ‘I like this post’, and ‘I hope I did enough at work today’. It’s difficult to train your brain to stay exactly where you are, but I think it’s worth it. I think it takes courage and patience, and I think there’s never a mastery level for this task. But if we spend our time trying, I believe we will live more wholeheartedly, more joyfully, and enjoy more of our moments. They are but few, lets get as much out of them as we can.

 

*This writing is in response to: Writing 101, Day Two: A Room with a View (Or Just a View)

We’re all drawn to certain places. If you had the power to get somewhere — anywhere — where would you go right now?
For your twist, focus on building a setting description.

 

2 comments

  1. There is a very well known quote “the life unexamined is not worth living” by Socrates or Plato or whoever but there is a lesser quote that I love “the unlived life is not worth examining” by Sheldon Kopp…I definetly think God wants for us to be present in every moment He gives us and to stop waiting with bated breath for what is coming from Him for me anyway He only ever shows me things when they are right in front of me so if I lived in expectation id be pretty disgruntled from the topsy turvyness of the journey instead I enjoy my everyday with Him. It’s hard though because society tells us that expectation is the root of reality. I really enjoy the idea of a fall-back happy place 🙂

    • I like how you said, “if I lived in expectation id be pretty disgruntled from the topsy turvyness of the journey.” – I agree! Another quote says, “Expect nothing; live frugally on surprise.” It’s one of my favorites! Don’t let society get in your head 😉 God is in control, anyway. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by/commenting!

What do you think?

