30 in 30: Days 19 & 20 (THE day)

Day 19: Dancing! The most perfect birthday dance.

Day 20: Surprise visit from mom!

So, I am finally 30. I still have 10 more days of celebration, but I am officially, as of 9:26 a.m. today, 30 years old.

Yesterday, Day 19, which would go into 20 – THE day – was to be celebrated at my happy place, on my dance floor, with my people. And they showed up, and we had an amazing night. Get ready for the sap: since I was 15 years old, I knew there was something waiting for me in North Carolina. This is it. These people. This life. This is what I waited for, and what was my life before this? I mean, I’ve had incredible friends in the past and still carry many of those friendships with me, but I am continually amazed at how God gives you more than you ever, ever thought you could have.

Friday, Day 19, I took 2 naps, chilled with my pup lying against my legs for more than 2 hours, enjoyed some sushi, and danced the night away. The 19th was the big dancing night, where everyone was in town and more than a dozen people came out to wish me a happy birthday. And to give me to my birthday dance. I had chosen the song weeks ago – Billy Currington, We Are Tonight. I chose this song because of its message: live life to the fullest, live it in the here-and-now, and because the lyrics describe how I feel about my current life: Dream as big as the midnight sky, So untamed and we’re so aliiiiiive tonight … It’s a Friday night, it’s a small town girl, everything is right … Everything we wanna be, We are, we are, we are tonight.

If you’ve been here before, you know how dancing fixed me, excites me, and stirs the most passionate side of me. It’s my happy place. I had asked my friend below to be my official birthday song dance partner, he obliged, and it was perfect.

photo 1

photo 2

 

Saturday, Day 20, was THE day. I was not allowed to plan anything, per my husband’s instructions, because of a surprise he had planned. Same goes for next weekend, I just found out. After watching Kendal skydive, I was blindfolded for almost an hour until we reached the airport, where this pretty lady was waiting for me! And, I came home to an Edible Arrangements from a hometown friend! 🙂 Great day all around.

photo

It’s a tradition that my mom visits each year on my birthday, but this year I had no idea exactly when she was coming. When we pulled up, I heard her laugh before I even got out of the car. 🙂  Yay for birthday surprises! We’ve already laughed to the point of tears at least three times, and it’s only been 8 hours.

Friends, thank you for celebrating with me! And, just a reminder, still 10 days to go!

One comment

What do you think?

