30 in 30 Day 25: 13 Going on 30

Today, I finally did it. I sat down for my 30 in 30 activity alone. I almost invited my friends, then I remembered that there hasn’t been a day since September 1st where I’ve been alone. And I thought to myself, this introvert needs to recover a bit before the weekend. I needed a no-people day.

13 Going on 30 was originally scheduled for Saturday, but my friends and husband told me last week I was to cancel all my plans for the weekend. Until yesterday I didn’t even know when the festivities were going to begin! When Kendal told me to be ready for food and fun at 7 p.m. Friday night, I could have kissed her. Good thing she told me over text!

How could I not include this movie in my birthday month?! It’s all about being 30, flirty, and thriving. And it’s about not wishing away years of your life because you think that one magic number is going to make it all better. When I first saw this movie at age 19 (the summer before I turned 20), I could not imagine what 30 would look like for me. I put two packages of Razzle candies up on my wall (I had a whole candy-wrapper collage going on), and ventured on into my 20s. And here we are… so far, so good! πŸ™‚

photo 1

photo 3

*I included sushi & cupcakes, because … it’s my birthday! And yes, you see a Lactaid pill on top of those cupcakes because sometimes I’m 80 instead of 30. I’m also not technically supposed to have chocolate, but once in a while I cave. Tonight was one of those times. Sam cuddled up nicely, didn’t she? πŸ˜‰

photo 2

Tomorrow is anybody’s guess… five more days of celebrating! Then you get your newsfeed back and I … sit still for five minutes and enjoy my 30s!

2 comments

  1. Seriously, “13 Going on 30” is one of my favorite movies. I’ve watched it several times. It is a cute story, and I like Mark Ruffalo. Happy 30th!

What do you think?

