I spent my day saying what was on my mind. And it was great.

One version of My Perfect Day (because, let’s be honest, there are different Perfect Days for different situations/passions/people/etc.) is a day where I go around saying every single thing I want to say. I am unafraid of consequences, responses or reactions, and every burden on my heart is shared with the appropriate person.

Yesterday, I tried my hardest to make that vision a reality. Sure, it gave me heart palpitations. And sure, after one particular sharing my hands were shaking. But that’s because true vulnerability is hard, it’s messy, and it’s risky. But it’s worth it. I felt incredible when I laid my head down last night. I felt free, I felt lighter, I felt like weights had been lifted off my chest and my shoulders. And I felt closer to the people who were on the receiving end of my honesty.

All we have is today. That is the only thing that is guaranteed. To the extent you’re able, choose wisely how you spend your moments.

Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.

*Maria Robinson

3 comments

What do you think?

