Three Good Things 10.10.14

IMG_1216
This week was not one for the record books, but that can be a good thing. Uneventful and boring from time to time is nothing short of a gift. I do know that someday I will *actually* grow up and put away my laundry when it is done in the dryer. Instead of the cycle it currently experiences: washer, then dryer, to a laundry basket, to my bed because I swear I’ll fold it before going to sleep, and then back to the hamper. From where I pick for at least 3 days. PR spin from one of my besties: Being a grown up is about making hard choices about where to spend our time and wisely investing in priorities. In other news…

Three silver lining moments this week:

  • My new camera! A Fujifilm x10, my first foray into semi-professional. I still don’t really understand it, and I’m having a hard time grasping all the functions. Because, for all the smarts God has graced me with, camera terminology is not a category he’s bestowed upon me. But I’m having fun experimenting, and I know it can do great things, I just need to get the swing of things.
  • Friends and a spouse that worked really hard to bring me out of a pretty dark mood. I had a decision to make that scared me, and their funny faces, great dances, an encouraging letter, and courageous kindness stopped the rabbit hole.
  • This paradise weather! It has been in the 70s, low humidity, and nothin’ but sunshine for the last week! This very well may be the calm before a red-letter winter, but that is quite all right with me.

Three things I’m watching this week:

  • An Upworthy find, this kind of excited poetry reading is far from my style, but I couldn’t stop watching this guy. His passion is breathtaking and his message is poignant.
  • You know what a Flash Mob is. How about a Mass Mob? It’s happier than it sounds. It’s an idea that’s been caught in Buffalo, NY, and Detroit, MI, where people are simply invited to mass at a historic Catholic church. On a typical Sunday, many of these churches see low, low numbers. On Mass Mob days – once a month – at some locations, a couple thousand have been showing up. It’s a generation striving to preserve part of their history.
  • This will be the cutest video you’ve seen in a long time. “I think you have the treasure!” This sweet girl is trying to save-slash-help her grandma when a rainbow “hits” her house. Fittingly published on Happify, a site that’s all about helping the world focus on the happy.

Three things I learned this week:

  • Nomophobia is a thing. I learned about it during Lifechurch.tv’s sermon titled #struggles: Rest. Nomophobia. If you say this term quickly, it sounds like a ghetto version of “No more phobia”. However, it is the moniker given to a psychological condition where an individual experiences significant anxiety, “panic or desperation” when separated from his or her smart phone (no mobile phone phobia). This isn’t just, “Oh, I need my phone because I’m kind of attached to it.” This is actual psychological distress that involves the dopamine in your brain, which is the chemical released during an addiction.
  • I picked up Susan Cain’s Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can’t Stop Talking. Because it was written for me and about me. It starts with a story of Rosa Parks and her incredibly brave act of refusing to sit in the back of the bus. This is where I learned that the Montgomery Bus Boycott lasted 381 days. That is commitment, faith, and courage, if you ask me.
  • Along the same lines, I learned that there is such a thing as being an ambivert – both an introvert and an extrovert. Isn’t that comforting? To know that you don’t have to be one or the other? To know that introversion and extroversion lie on a continuum, and if you feel like you don’t fit in either world, it’s probably because you dabble in both? See, I was always that person who on those stupid magazine quizzes, always – without fail – gets directly in the middle. I never seem to fit in one finite world. This book – and this term, ambivert – is reminding me that I don’t have to. (Word still doesn’t recognize it, as on my editor it is plagued with the dreaded red squiggly underline. But it’s on dictionary.com, and if it’s on the internet it must be true).

What are your silver lining moments or three other good things of the week? Oh, and HAPPY FRIDAY!

One comment

What do you think?

