Three Good Things 10.17.14

IMG_1216.JPG

Fall in NC = crisp mornings and warm afternoons. Makes you want to bake, light a cinnamon spice candle, and start watching Charlie Brown specials. 😉

I hope you are enjoying this feature, inspired by A Storybook Life, as much as I am. I look forward to compiling and writing it each week, and weeks like this when I kind of had to think extra hard about which Silver Lining moments I wanted to include, perspective is brought to my life. Always a good thing!

3 Silver Lining Moments this week:

  • As of this morning, I am the proud owner of tickets to see GARTH BROOKS AND TRISHA YEARWOOD. LIVE. IN CONCERT. You think you’ve seen me excited. Then you send me to a country concert. I looked in the thesaurus for alternatives for ‘excited’ to see if I could find a more extreme word to describe the dance that’s happening in my heart as I just think about seeing this man in concert. All I could see that fit was: thrilled, fired up, elated, and atingle. That last one sounds scandalous, eh? Either way, throw ’em all together and what’ve you got? ME AT A GARTH BROOKS CONCERT. WOO!
  • New Kindle! I was having serious customer service issues with Amazon and my defunct Kindle, including being told to “go walk it off” when I became frustrated, even though I never raised my voice. Three phone calls, two e-mails, and an IM chat session later, I received my upgraded replacement! I feel more complete now, which I know sounds ridiculous, but my Kindle allows me to always have a book at my disposal, and that is something that just makes my life better. I know, 1st World Problems.
  • I found out about a photo editing program called Fotor, and I LOVE IT. It is easy to use, aesthetically pleasing, and fun! Because I’m a nerd and I love things like this.

3 things I’m reading this week:

  • A dear friend is documenting 30 days of Sugar Sobriety. This particular entry about weight not being the crux of her transformation is powerful and entirely relatable, no matter your struggle. “Even more, I cannot let it determine my finish line.”
  • Children’s books galore: Suppose You Meet a Dinosaur, Monsters, Mind Your Manners, Tea for Ruby, Peace Week in Miss Fox’s Class, The Red Ribbon, Zero, One, Jungle Bullies, Three Bully Goats. This is the life of an educator when she’s up to her ears in planning, but I love it. Obviously I believe in the power of stories, or I wouldn’t be writing my second novel. I also wouldn’t have a stack of 10 books on my nightstand just waiting to be read. Children’s stories, when written and illustrated well, are so beautifully poignant and can touch readers of any age. I have used dozens and dozens of books for lessons on patience, flexibility, listening, courage, honesty, tattling, conflict resolution, feelings expression, friendship, bullying, manners, etc. Need a suggestion? Leave a comment or shoot me an e-mail (elisa.preston@gmail.com).
  • Quiet, by Susan Cain. I still haven’t watched her TED Talk, though I keep meaning to. I’m on a 30-day TV hiatus (more on that later) so I keep forgetting the things I’m allowed to watch (TED Talks are one of them, since they’re not a distraction). Anyway, Quiet is all about being an introvert in a ‘world that can’t stop talking’. I’m not even 50 pages in and I’m already seeing my world differently. Pretty sure she wrote this about me! 😉

3 things I learned this week:

  • The English word worry comes from the German word wurgen, literally meaning to strangle, constrict, choke. Coincidence? I think not! Don’t worry, be happy!
  • Sharks come to shore to feed! I’m sorry, but I had no idea. I assumed they stayed pretty far out in the ocean to catch their breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I knew they came into shore sometimes, but this video shows a pretty cool shark feeding frenzy:

  • So, if you’ve been around for more than a minute you know Facebook is taking over the world. If you’re on the fence about whether or not that’s true, read “The Boy Kings” and then let me know what you think. But what this Mashable article shows is that even YouTube can’t keep up with its own platform compared to the giant seeing eye that is FB. Please pay attention to the fact that the data is just from this calendar year. What do you want to do tonight, Mark Zuckerberg asked himself. Take over the world…

What are your 3 Good Things?

What do you think?

