The gift that is Garth Brooks.

When I was 8 years old, I wore out that blue CD with the lower case “g”. I put it into my first CD player and did not take it out for weeks. My poor brother who couldn’t stand country music, but my happy soul as Garth blasted from my player day after day after day.

For 22 years I have wanted to see this man in concert. Because when your soul is moved through a speaker, you want to see what happens in person.

Then 10 years later, I wore out Trisha with Georgia Rain. Because these two … Why are there other people playing country music when these two obviously own every stage on which they play? (With the exception of Mr. George Strait and the other 90s greats).

IMG_2216.JPG

IMG_2219.JPG

IMG_2218.JPG

He sang every single song we hoped for.Standing Outside the Fire, Unanswered Prayers, Baton Rouge, and on and on and on. He ran around the stage, sweat like crazy, and has not missed a beat in his absence. For crying out loud, the man played the first chord of Friends in Low Places and the stadium exploded.

Dad, thank you for loving this with me and introducing me to this music when I was 8 years old and WBEE was just starting out. I don’t remember the last time I was as happy and excited and overjoyed as I was last night. Thank you for giving me that gift.

The rest of you, go get you some Garth!

2 comments

What do you think?

