Three Good Things: Irish Blessings for you & yours

IMG_1216

Happy Weekend! I hope you are all recovering from your Thanksgiving indulgences of food, friends, and family, and have settled into whatever routine you typically follow from last Thursday through the New Year. 🙂 My tree usually goes up this weekend, but it’s been up for about three weeks now. I’ve been watching Christmas movies for that long, too. I know, such a violation! But I have saved the true Christmas movies – the original Christmas movies – for the next two weeks: It’s a Wonderful Life, A Very Brady Christmas, Home Alone I and II.

This week will be a little different format for Three Good Things. Inspired by A Storybook Life. I usually list three silver linings from the week, three things I’m watching or reading, and three thing I learned. This week was a great week with my family and friends, but it was also quite a heavy week with the Ferguson happenings, and as a friend from high school who has the brightest, sweetest, most joyful smile and personality continues to fight for her life as she deals with brain cancer and currently a meningitis infection.

Sometimes it feels like the harder and more often we pray, the worse things get. We might even stop praying for patience because we don’t want our patience to be tested any more than it already has. We might stop praying for a miracle because after three years we think, shouldn’t it have come already? But the thing is, what else is there? I’m not a medical professional, and chances are you aren’t either. Without prayer, without a divine intervention, we are helpless. Reliance on our heavenly Father who holds the whole world in His hands is necessary.

So for my Three Good Things, I would like you send you three Irish blessings. I posted one the other night for Tonya, but today I’d like to send you three. I’m not the least bit Irish, but I love blessings.

Blessings are something I learned about two summers ago as my pastor went through the Bible and showed their place in Biblical history, as well as how to send and receive blessings. I hope you will receive these today. Read them aloud, tuck them away in your heart, and then send them along.

May you always have work for your hands to do.
May your pockets hold always a coin or two.
May the sun shine bright on your windowpane.
May the rainbow be certain to follow each rain.
May the hand of a friend always be near you.
And may God fill your heart with gladness to cheer you.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

May joy and peace surround you,
Contentment latch your door,
And happiness be with you now
And God bless you evermore.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

May you always walk in sunshine.
May you never want for more.
May Irish angels rest their wings
Right beside your door.

2 comments

  1. I love that you put up your tree three weeks ago! I fully support using the comforts of the season to soften some of the other more difficult parts of life. And I *am* half Irish, but even if I weren’t, I’d love those blessings. Beautiful words.

What do you think?

