Three Good Things: Happy Birthday under copyright, Chicken enchilada casserole, and a glow-in-the-dark bike path

IMG_1216

Happy Friday! I hope your week was filled with Christmas music, tree lightings, and the magic of Elf on the Shelf (or the magic of Christmas cookies, if you’re of the opinion that EOTS is creepy). We are only 19 days until Jolly Old St. Nicholas leaves us treasures under the tree! As you can tell, my Christmas Spirit is going full steam ahead this year. I love Christmas anyway, but with Greg getting home from flight school and a vacation on the way, the joy is just abounding, my friends. And below, as inspired by A Storybook Life, here are Three Good Things:

Three Silver Lining Moments of the week:

  • Gimmee Some Oven’s Chicken Enchilada Casserole. I made mine in an 8×8 pan, which is my excuse for why I ate half the night I made it, and the rest the next day for lunch. I used her homemade enchilada sauce, too, instead of stuff from a can, and I didn’t feel like I missed a thing. YUMMY!
  • Christmas shopping! We split it about 70/30 – 70% online and 30% brick-and-mortar purchases. The wonderful (and selfish) thing about online shopping is that it feels like Christmas for the buyer! I got three packages within two days and beneath my tree looks like Christmas morning after all the unwrapping. 😀
  • Wednesday was stupid. But I ended my day with a friend whom I call my New Addition because out of all my people she’s the newest ;). She made my day end way better than it began. A good friendship cannot be overstated.
    CIMG1712

    “Why did you do all this for me?’ he asked. ‘I don’t deserve it. I’ve never done anything for you.’ ‘You have been my friend,’ replied Charlotte. ‘That in itself is a tremendous thing.” ― E.B. White, Charlotte’s Web

Three things I’m watching this week:

  • Every Christmas episode of Friends. This would have been easier had they all been on Netflix (Jan. 1!), but instead I went old school and pulled out all my DVDs and just traded the discs in and out for each episode. I enjoyed them. However, I realized/remembered that Thanksgiving was the writers’ specialty rather than Christmas. Fun fact: the first season, the budget for Friends was so small that all they could afford was to shoot in the apartment set for the Thanksgiving episode, thus beginning a 10-year tradition that gave us some of the best lines of the series (The purpose of the box is three-fold!) Also The Santa Clause. Again. For the third time this season. And Holiday in Handcuffs, also for the third time this season. I’m sorry! (Not really). But it wasn’t cold enough to watch It’s a Wonderful Life or Love Actually. I live in the South, remember. It’s been in the 50s and 60s. I need to have my windows closed and my heat on before I can watch those two movies. (This is way more than one thing for one bullet, but they all obviously fall under “Holiday Television” 😉 )
  • Sports Night! If you are an Aaron Sorkin fan, any kind of journalist, or just enjoy good sitcom writing, get a Hulu Plus account and go watch Sports Night. It’s Felicity Huffman and Peter Krause at their best. I haven’t watched it in about 16 years, and I still remembered with startling clarity the speech Jeremy gives in episode 3 about why he doesn’t like hunting.

Three things I learned this week:

  • Happy Birthday is under copyright, and it is illegal to sing it on television or in a movie without the proper permission. Not only that, but the four-line song garners approximately $2 million each year in royalties. You can sing it in your classroom – and apparently it was written by two schoolteachers in Kentucky – but for a public audience you may not. Chances that you’ll go to court if the rule is broken is unlikely; but if the wrong person gets wind of it, expect a fee!
  • Pat Sajak is pretty old school. I’ve heard mixed reviews on his personality over the years, but I never really cared. I don’t do gossip, especially of the Hollywood variety. He recently did an interview with The Blaze, in which he reveals his opinions on reality television and general TV content. I also didn’t realize that Wheel of Fortune was older than me!
  • Look at this bike path, located in the Netherlands and designed by an artist who calls it techno-poetry. It’s an illuminated bike path created with glow-in-the-dark stones and inspired by Van Gogh’s Starry Night. One more reason to live overseas, cool bike paths. See the short story here or click on the image.

One comment

What do you think?

