Taking a break from life.

I am so appreciative of anyone who clicks over to Life’s So Sweet to read, and especially to those who decide to hit that little blue or black (depending on your device) “Follow” button. I appreciate the views and the searches, the comments and the Likes.

Even so, I am taking a break from writing on here. It’s time for a break. And here’s why:

I love to write. It’s compulsive for me and necessary for my sanity. I’m just about done with writing my second novel. I’m in love with it. I love the storyline, the characters, and even my writing. I started writing this blog because I was publishing Making Room. A blog was expected for a published author, so I got my feet wet and started writing, getting much better at it as I went along. I’ve found a lot of ways to encourage you through writing on here over the last two years, and I’m so thankful for the experience. It’s helped me refine my writing, connect with cool people, and has helped me refine my focus and several of my Why’s: Why do I write, why do I blog, why do I tell stories, why do I keep doing this?

I write because my fingers and brain can’t help themselves. They connect in an uncanny way and I obey the compulsion.

I tell stories because that’s how we connect, it’s how we understand our world and others’ perspectives.

I keep doing this because it’s a gifting and an order from my heart, which I believe to be directed by my Heavenly Father.

I blog because… that’s where I’m having trouble. I’m terrible at social obligation. I tend to run at the very thought of it. I understand it’s part of the author world right now, and that’s okay with me. But I want to only produce quality writing for you. I want to be here and encourage you and give you words that mean something. I don’t want to give you forced tales just because I hope that someday you might read my next novel. That’s not how I work.

My goal is not to be J.K. Rowling. My goal is to write what God lays on my heart. I see these stories in my head like a silent movie, and I’m simply putting it on paper. (A computer screen, then paper ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). When I’m ready to produce quality blog material for you, I’ll be back. If writing becomes my vocation for a time, I’ll be back. Right now, amidst a regular job that I can’t write about, my husband coming home from flight school with a cat (causing family changes/disruptions in my universe), and a decent travel schedule ahead, the only writing I want to focus on in between all of that is Sarah, Adam, Jake, Katherine and Jack in my second novel.

I hope you’ll join me when I come back, because I’ll be back.

If you’re here for the first time, please check out some of my favorite posts from the last two years, listed below. I’ll be up-and-running again, so stick around if you like what you see.

Happsters instagram2

Thanks again, and see you soon! Ciao for now ๐Ÿ˜‰

Gram stories:

Faith notes:

Encouragement:

Daily Prompts and Other Stories:

3 comments

  1. So sad!!!! ๐Ÿ˜” But I completely understand. It’s a new season for you and your family and some downtime is just what you need. Going to miss your stories though….whenever I would read a blog I felt like you were talking to me…like you had called me on the phone. But we will just have to do that…..use the phone more often. I love you and miss you tons!!! Hugs!!!!

What do you think?

